For once in my life,

Doing what I love. Back in the front of the boat
Doing what I love. Back in the front of the boat

So I haven’t blogged in a while, mainly because I like to write about things that will be useful to others. I have been avoiding this Word document page like the plague, in the risk of sounding pathetic or word-vomiting ill thoughts. There is nothing worse that having to write about things that you don’t connect with. I don’t connect to emotionally reckless blogs – it’s just not my thing, but I want to share what’s important in my life at present.

Family – Fresh love, fine love and sometimes even tough love. That’s what it’s all about right? Being told when you are wrong and being part of a network that shares arguments, debates, dramas and moments (good and bad), is what makes my family special. And in my opinion, Mum and Dad did a pretty fine job in ensuring that we grow up balanced adults, (if I do say so myself).

Friends – A few that I have sometimes misjudged at times. I only have a handful of true friends who I would trust whole-heartedly. I’ve always thought that the best kind of friends could fit comfortably in your family photo next to you. I’m not going to define what a friend is, but for me, they are people you can’t copy. You just have to watch, listen and learn together through both of your misfortunes, mistakes, successes, failures, luck and all the experiences that come with it.

Career – As always, I have thought of my career as a goal that I wish to smash! I love my job and the profession that I have opened the door to. It’s not always going to be as welcome as it feels now, I’m sure. I hope to learn a lot of lessons about the world of journalism in my life and one day, even be proud enough to say that I have mastered it – I have a long way to go, but I have always taken strongly to a challenge.

I have never understood people who don’t care about their jobs and who use circumstances as excuses as obstacles that could be climbed with only a little effort. “If it’s meant to be, it’s down to me.”

Denial and hope are two words with loose-opposite meanings, yet still have a strange connection. At first glance, denial suggests that you are on course for failure. Not accepting the reality and choosing to behave oblivious to the truth of the matter, that nine times out of ten is that the goal is unachievable. Denial can lead to heartbreak, anger and unfulfilled emotions, yet it can also lead to a world of possibilities.

On the surface, hope opens up that possibility that with the correct mind-set you can achieve what many believe to be impossible. Having hope allows you to figure out how you will reach your goal (however big or small they may be). But perhaps ironically, you need a bit of both in order to succeed. Some of the craziest ideas have gone on to change society. For example, Tim Burners-Lee and his invention of the Internet. I’m sure at some point in his life he was living in denial that his idea would change the world. He also had hope and believed he could…

For once in my life, I have had time to realise and reflect on the things that make me happy. I can’t believe it has taken so long to realise the true benefits of being single… Me. My time and my decisions to do what ever I want to do. 🙂

Being comfortable in your own skin is a tremendous achievement, but so is admitting that you are not quite there yet. Stay strong and never stray from who you are. Always be yourself, don’t lose sight of right and wrong and treat people how you would like to be treated. Always enjoy life and make the most of the opportunities that you hope will lead to bigger and better things in the future. If so many before you can dream it, think it and do it, then so can you!

Leave a Reply

