Everything happens for a reason

A loyal and true friend - priceless
A loyal and true friend – priceless

Everything happens for a reason. A sentence that I could never clearly understand before now. Looking back on my short time on this planet, every situation that I have found myself in has definitely been the cause or been relative to a new positive feeling. Of course this is feeling is determined on how you reflect on things but I think that positivity is the drug of happiness.

I was never the popular kid at school. I was liked and had friends but never at the top of the hierarchy of popularity. I accepted that and throughout my time growing up I realised very early on that I didn’t want to be Mr popular. As long as I am happy and doing what I want to do then why would I need to be popular? Instead I could relax and simply enjoy everything I had in life to the full.

I am not going to sit here and write about all the negatives. I am and always will be a very positive person. I believe that in life you make your own luck. If you are a warm charismatic and kind person to others then you should get the same back in return. Another fantastic one-liner coming up. Treat others how you would like to be treated – so bloody true! There is no point putting others down or feeling jealous. Working hard and finding ambition kicks jealousy’s butt any day of the week and although it may put up a good fight, jealousy will only make you an unhappy person in the end.

Friends for me are like gold dust. They pick me up when I am low, they strengthen me when I feel weak and in the middle of all of this we have captured amazing memories that will last a lifetime. You can’t always tell who is true in life but you can always spot out true friends. Someone who makes you feel worth being who you are, someone who doesn’t judge your decisions as long as they come from you, and someone who is just there for a good old chit chat!

People come in and out of your life everyday and of course you’re not going to like everyone and not everyone is going to like you. It’s important to keep that in mind because that statement is okay to accept. I would rather have a few extremely close friends than be the popular kid. At the end of the day being popular is overrated because you are constantly talked about instead of talked to – and who can say that they would prefer that?

So what I am trying to say is that I respect my friends who will always get me through hard situations. I love my friends and will always be there to listen to them as well. And finally… I would like to just put this out there that a friend who can walk back into your life after three years of not speaking is a friend who should be kept very dear. This validates the point that everything happens for a reason.

H x

Leave a Reply

