A dip into paradise

Spetses - little Greek island off the coast of Athens - watch out, the Kilburns and co are coming for you!
Spetses – little Greek island off the coast of Athens – watch out, the Kilburns and co are coming for you!

So in a few weeks I would have finished my second year at university and will be jetting off to Greece – oh la la. The plan is that the whole family is going for a grown-up family holiday and we are all allowed to bring our partners. For me that is such a big deal. As many of you already know I am a homosexual and there was a time in my life where I didn’t think my family would accept me having a partner. Well my friends, my experience of ‘coming out’ has taught me one very important lesson. Everything comes good in the end and there is no point worrying about things you cannot change. My family welcomed Jason into the family and it has been a very special journey in my life.

So back to the more important matter at hand, our week in the sunshine. It will be mine and Jason’s first holiday and I am sure that it will be followed up by many more, but I am so looking forward to sunbathing on the beach and sitting out by the pool late at night, sipping delicious cocktails. After the craziness of this year at university, I will not take this trip for granted!

After our dip into paradise everything will change. I will be living back with my parents and working for a publishing company. Then in September I will be commuting to Brighton two days a week for university and working three days a week. It is all happening so quickly and it feels so right. I am growing up and slowly but surely making my debut in the big wide world – just another chapter in the book!

Leave a Reply

