Nothing like your mothers protection

I woke up this morning and checked my emails (as I do every morning), and I noticed that my mum had sent me something, in the subject box was ‘news’. I thought ‘oh brilliant, as a journalist student she has sent me something interesting to read.’ I opened the email and it read,

“Hamish, see this link… Stay safe you are very precious!”

Strange I thought, its not uncommon for my mum to send me random emails as recently I have got into the habit of sending her daily motivational quotes just to brighten up her day. So anyway I clicked on the link, still half asleep wondering what was to important to be safe from… It was a news story on HIV and how the number of gay men who have the infection isn’t falling. It was no doubt very interesting to read. The concern is that more and more gay men are unaware that they are living with the infection, which makes it more difficult to treat later on when the HIV is detected.

This isn’t the first time that my mum has scanned the internet trying to educate herself in the ‘gay world’. When I came out as a 16 year old she spent most of her time scrolling through google finding forums and articles about how to deal with the situation. The problem with the internet is that it sensationalises issues and forums and articles written by other mothers and ‘experts’ categorise the gay community in thinking that all of us gays are promiscuous and ignorant when it comes to sex and STI’s.

Regardless of the fact that I have a long term boyfriend who I have been very happy with for two years now, my mother just thinks its right to remind me of the dangers, and I know she does it with love. Whether it was meant to or not, her email put a smile on my face because I know no matter how old I am I will always be seen as the baby of the family and my mum will probably always remind me of the dangers of being gay!

Just in case you are reading this mum, I love you very much and thank you for thinking about me 🙂

Leave a Reply

